More Manny being Manny

On Wednesday, before an off-day workout, Manny Ramirez sat down at his locker and started speaking to reporters. On whether overcoming a 3-0 ALCS deficit against the New York Yankees in 2004 will help the Red Sox overcome a 3-1 deficit to the Indians, Manny had this to say: “We’re not thinking about 2004. Anything is possible. We’ve been in this situation before. We’ve got nothing to lose…And if it doesn’t happen, who cares? There’s always next year. It’s not the end of the world.” What he has said makes sense and resonates well with him, but I’d bet millions of Red Sox fans aren’t as amused.

Additionally, Manny had a comment about his home run heroics from the night before: “I’m just happy to do something special like that.” Wait, first of all, how was it special? It was a solo shot, and it didn’t win the game for the Red Sox. Had this been a walk-off homer, I could see him making that comment. Anyway, he continued, “I’m not trying to show up anybody out there. I’m trying to go have fun. If somebody strikes me out and shows me up, that’s part of the game. I love it. I like to compete, and when people show me up, it’s all good. There’s no hard feelings.” He has a good attitude about competition, except his theatrics were more than excessive given the situation: his team was still down by four runs after the home run.

~ by mlb2007playoffs on October 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
