Chipper Jones Displeased

According to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chipper Jones is a bit confused how David Wright was able to win the NL Gold Glove Award.

“When I find out [Wright won] I was speechless, for quite some time,” Jones said. “Certainly the guys with the least amount of errors and best fielding percentage quite obviously didn’t win it.” The report also quoted Jones as saying, “I wouldn’t have been disappointed had someone like [Pedro] Feliz or [Aramis] Ramirez won it. I’m a little confused by the final tally – that’s a head-scratcher for me.”

Wright wasn’t exactly devastated by Jones’ comments. While talking to The New York Post yesterday, the Mets’ third baseman said he paid no attention to Jones’ remarks. Wright is doing the right thing here to avoid controversy over a subjective award.
“Chipper Jones plays for the Braves,” Wright said. “Honestly I could care less. I respect what Chipper does in this game. I respect Chipper as a player. But what he says to the papers doesn’t mean anything to me personally. I don’t take anything he says to heart. Obviously I think I can be better defensively. There’s no doubt about it. But I have a Gold Glove, and that’s the bottom line, and that’s something I’m very proud of, and I feel like I’m getting better and better defensively, and obviously managers and coaches have seen that.”

No disrespect to Wright, but I think Chipper was more entitled to the Gold Glove Award. I may be somewhat biased in my opinion, but the numbers don’t lie. In 126 games this season, Chipper Jones accumulated 75 put-outs and 226 assists (Chipper also played one game as SS with no errors). Chipper Jones committed only 9 errors in 2007, and his fielding percentage was 0.971. On the other hand, David Wright played in 159 games and accumulated 107 put-outs and 324 assists, while tallying up 21 errors during the season. Wright’s fielding percentage was 0.954. In the 2007 season, David Wright ranked as having fifth most errors in the majors as a 3B. Wright did have the third-most assists and fourth-most put-outs for a 3B, so maybe those stats were enough to give him the nod over Chipper Jones, even though Wright had almost twice as many errors (in terms of percent) than did Chipper Jones during the regular season (adjusted for number of games the two players played in 2007).

~ by mlb2007playoffs on November 11, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
